• Madrid, été 1957.
    Passionné de photographie, Daniel Matheson, 18 ans, découvre l'Espagne à travers l'objectif de son appareil. Il loge au quartier général de la haute société américaine: l'hôtel Castellana, où travaille la mystérieuse Ana Torres Moreno. À mesure qu'ils se rapprochent, Ana lui révèle un pays où la dictature fait régner la peur et l'oppression, hanté par de terribles secrets...

  • Hiver 1945. Quatre adolescents, chacun né dans un pays différent, chacun hanté par sa propre guerre. Parmi les milliers de réfugiés fuyant à pied, le destin les a réunis pour affronter le froid, la faim, la peur, les bombes... et embarquer sur le "Wilhem Gustloff", un navire promesse de liberté.

  • Lina est une jeune Lituanienne comme tant d'autres. Très douée pour le dessin, elle va intégrer une école d'art. Mais un nuit de juin 1941, des gardes soviétiques l'arrachent à son foyer. Elle est déportée en Sibérie avec sa mère et son petit frère, Jonas, au terme d'un terrible voyage. Dans ce désert gelé, il faut lutter pour survivre dans les conditions les plus cruelles qui soient. Mais Lina tient bon, portée par l'amour des siens et son audace d'adolescente. Dans le camp, Andrius, 17 ans, affiche la même combativité qu'elle.

    Elu Meilleur roman Jeunesse 2011 par le Magazine LiRE

  • 1950, La Nouvelle-Orléans. Josie, 17 ans et fille de prostituée, a grandi dans une maison close. Pourtant, elle n'a qu'un rêve: entrer dans une prestigieuse université. Impliquée dans une histoire de meurtre, tout pousse la jeune fille à suivre, elle aussi, la voie de l'argent facile. Mais Jo vaut mieux que cela... et ceux qui l'aiment le savent. Une incroyable plongée dans l'univers sombre et pittoresque de la Louisiane dans les années 50. "J'aime l'idée que Josie soit un exemple, un modèle. Qu'elle montre que l'on peut écrire son propre destin, peu importe d'où l'on vient et où l'on se trouve. Que l'on peut choisir sa vie..." Ruta Sepetys. Par l'auteur du succès international "Ce qu'ils n'ont pas pu nous prendre".

  • One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia.

    An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father or her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope.

    Lina hopes for her family.
    For her country.
    For her future.
    For love - first love, with the boy she barely knows but knows she does not want to lose . . .

    Will hope keep Lina alive?

    Set in 1941, Between Shades of Gray is an extraordinary and haunting story based on first-hand family accounts and memories from survivors.

  • For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea: "Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." --Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity “A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying--and little-known--moment in World War II history.” --Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb * "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." --Kirkus Praise for Between Shades of Gray: A New York Times Notable Book of 2011 A Wall Street Journal Best Children’s Book of 2011 A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2011 The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel A School Library Journal Best Book of 2011 A Booklist Best Book of 2011 A Kirkus Best Book of 2011 2012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the Year A Carnegie Medal Finalist A William C. Morris Finalist A New York Times Bestseller An International Bestseller “Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.” --The Washington Post * “A harrowing page-turner.” --Publishers Weekly, starred review * “A gripping story.” --School Library Journal, starred review * “Bitterly sad, fluidly written…Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers.” --Kirkus, starred review * "Beautifully written and deeply felt…an important book that deserves the widest possible readership.” --Booklist, starred review “Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come.” --Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls “In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue.” --Richard Peck, Newbery Award–winning author of A Year Down Yonder “Between Shades of Gray is a story of astonishing force. I feel grateful for a writer like Ruta Sepetys who bravely tells the hard story of what happens to the innocent when world leaders and their minions choose hate and oppression. Beautiful and unforgettable.” --Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor–winning author of Hitler Youth From the Hardcover edition.

  • An inspirational novel based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines the story of a handful of these people as they trek across Germany, bound together only by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. From the gentle wisdom of the old man known as the Shoe Poet to the bravery of Emilia, the Polish girl who struggles onwards hiding a dark secret inside herself, this is a band of unforgettable characters and unmissable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed by this.

  • "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post A New York Times notable book An International Bestseller A Carnegie Medal Nominee Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life--until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?
    A moving and haunting novel for readers of The Book Thief

  • "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post A New York Times notable book An International Bestseller A Carnegie Medal Nominee Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life--until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?
    A moving and haunting novel for readers of The Book Thief

empty