• Enfermée dans un pensionnat terrifiant, November peut-elle sauver son père, sa famille... et le monde entier ?
    Après avoir survécu à un séjour de plusieurs semaines à l'Académie Absconditi, le pensionnat ultra-élitiste le plus dangereux du monde, November n'a plus qu'une idée en tête : retrouver son père. Accompagnée du ténébreux Ash, elle se lance dans une poursuite périlleuse à travers l'Europe. La tâche s'annonce difficile, d'autant qu'elle ne dispose que de peu d'indices et que les ennemis s'accumulent... Au fil des révélations sur sa famille, November se retrouve malgré elle au coeur d'un jeu complexe d'alliances et de mensonges.
    Armée d'une volonté sans faille, la jeune femme fera tout pour atteindre son but, quitte à risquer sa vie. Mais une novice à peine entraînée peut-elle réellement défier des clans centenaires à la puissance insoupçonnée ?

  • Absconditi est une académie secrète et ultra-élitiste réservée aux enfants des Clans, un ordre tentaculaire qui manipule dans l'ombre les destinées du monde. Cours d'empoisonnement, lancer de couteaux, vols en tout genre... les élèves sont formés aux métiers d'assassin, d'espion, d'escroc. C'est un endroit cruel où les amis sont rares et dangereux : chaque année, des pensionnaires y meurent dans d'étranges circonstances. November Adley ignore pour quelle obscure raison son père l'a placée là, tant elle semble inadaptée à cet environnement. Elle devra pourtant s'y faire, et vite. Pour survivre, il lui faudra fouiller dans son passé et trouver sa place sur l'échiquier des Clans...

  • For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past. Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were? If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself. From the Hardcover edition.

  • The Titanic meets the delicious horror of Ransom Riggs and the sass of Mean Girls in this follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller How to Hang a Witch, in which a contemporary teen finds herself a passenger on the famous “ship of dreams”--a story made all the more fascinating because the author’s own relatives survived the doomed voyage.
    Samantha Mather knew her family’s connection to the infamous Salem Witch Trials might pose obstacles to an active social life. But having survived one curse, she never thought she’d find herself at the center of a new one.
    This time, Sam is having recurring dreams about the Titanic . . . where she’s been walking the deck with first-class passengers, like her aunt and uncle. Meanwhile, in Sam’s waking life, strange missives from the Titanic have been finding their way to her, along with haunting visions of people who went down with the ship.
    Ultimately, Sam and the Descendants, along with some help from heartthrob Elijah, must unravel who is behind the spell that is drawing her ever further into the dream ship . . . and closer to sharing the same grim fate as its ghostly passengers.
    Praise for How to Hang a Witch:
    “It’s like Mean Girls meets history class in the best possible way.” --Seventeen Magazine
    “Mather shines a light on the lessons the Salem Witch Trials can teach us about modern-day bullying--and what we can do about it.” --Bustle.com
    “Strikes a careful balance of creepy, fun, and thoughtful.” --NPR
    “I am utterly addicted to Adriana Mather’s electric debut. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, twisting and turning with ghosts, witches, an ancient curse, and--sigh--romance. It’s beautiful. Haunting. The characters are vivid and real. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down.” --Jennifer Niven, bestselling author of All the Bright Places

  • In this open access book, seventeen scholars discuss how contemporary Scandinavian art and media have become important arenas to articulate and stage various forms of vulnerability in the Scandinavian welfare states. How do discourses of privilege and vulnerability coexist and interact in Scandinavia? How do the Scandinavian countries respond to vulnerability given increased migration? How is vulnerability distributed in terms of margin and centre, normality and deviance? And how can vulnerability be used to move audiences towards each other and accomplish change? We address these questions in an interdisciplinary study that brings examples from celebrated and provocative fiction and documentary films, TV-series, reality TV, art installations, design, literature, graphic art, radio podcasts and campaigns on social media.

empty